Virginia’s minimum wage laws protect workers against exploitation and inadequate remuneration while giving everyone an opportunity to share in the economic benefits of expanding enterprises. If you run a business, you need to know the minimum wage standards so that you can pay your employees fairly and stay in line with the law.
Do you need data about average wages in the Commonwealth of Virginia? Read our guide to learn more about the minimum wage in Virginia, the rules governing employees who get tips, the requirements for overtime compensation, and more.
New minimum wage laws in Virginia
On January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Virginia will raise to $11.00 per hour. The current rate was established in accordance with government standards.
Establishing a minimum wage in Virginia by law is meant to deter employers from paying their workers below-market rates that do not fairly compensate for their efforts. The state minimum wage in Virginia is $11 per hour, and firms are obligated to pay their employees at least that amount. This is done to ensure that employees have enough money for food, clothing, and shelter.
Salaried and exempt employees get a set amount of money each pay period, as opposed to hourly workers who receive just the minimum wage. These employees are often exempt from minimum wage and overtime pay laws. The federal minimum wage in the United States is $684 per week, or $35,568 per year, for salaried employees.
Raising Virginia’s minimum wage to the national average
The Virginia General Assembly passed a measure in April 2020 that will raise the state’s minimum wage to $15 by 2026. If the changes requested by Governor Ralph Northam are accepted and the original implementation date is delayed, the minimum wage is recommended to be increased annually until 2026.
On May 1, 2021, the minimum wage in the state raised from $7.25 to $9.50 an hour, marking the first rise in wages since 2009. The federal minimum wage will rise to $11 per hour on January 1, 2022, up from $9.50 per hour.
The types of employees who are now required to pay attention to the new minimum wage regulations in Virginia have changed. Here are a few examples:
- Domestic workers include a wide range of occupations, including nannies and au pairs.
- Workers who put in a certain amount of time in return for a wage and whose pay is directly related to that effort level. Those whose capacity to work is diminished by physical or mental impairments
Whoever does not have to make at least $7.25 per hour in the United States
The United States Department of Labour mandates the posting of notices advising workers of their rights to a minimum wage and other workplace protections. Businesses must follow this regulation. The Fair Labour Standards Act states that “employers who wilfully or repeatedly violate the minimum wage are subject to a civil penalty of up to $1,000.” Employers that don’t pay their workers the minimum wage face the fine outlined below.
The Virginia state minimum wage for tipped employees
Workers whose primary source of income is tips are subject to a particular minimum wage rule. Regular workers whose monthly tip earnings are greater than $30 are defined as “tipped employees” under both federal and state law. This category includes those who work in the hospitality industry, such as waiters, bartenders, housekeepers, and doormen.